Buying a Blackbook OR the New MBP Pro...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by edanna, Oct 9, 2009.

1. edanna macrumors newbie

I am a student, with very little requirement of my computer other than it run fast, and be reliable. I have had my MacBook Pro for almost 3 years now, and it just isn't fast enough anymore. Often, for research, I need Adobe, Safari, Word, and Mail open simultaneously. I am debating between a new in box Blackbook 2.4 Ghz with upgraded 4GB memory, or the new MacBook Pro Unibody 13" 2.53 Ghz. Above all else, this thing has got to last me through grad school, and longer than my macbook pro has (although it's not really it's fault that I wouldn't spring for AppleCare :) I still love it to death!)

Anyway, please tell me what you guys think (I always check here for mac advice, but now I have an account!)

2. AAPLaday Guest

AAPLaday

The MBP will outlast the blackbook. It can support up to 8GB ram and from a construction standpoint is better made. Oh and you can use your education discount to get it cheap or check the Apple refurb store :)

3. prodigee macrumors 6502a

Well if you want collector's value then get the Blackbook, but I would say just get the uMBP because it is faster, has more room for upgrades, and lets face it, its super sexy, the matte black of the Blackbook attracts a boat load of finger prints and oils.

On paper the uMBP is the way to go here, because it really is the superior machine, and it will in my opinion last you longer.

My $.02

4. arjen92 macrumors 65816

arjen92

also, the adobe package supports GPU accelerating. The macbook pro has an Nvidia chip set. The Black Book doesn't.

Just my 2 euros.

5. edanna thread starter macrumors newbie

Agreed