Buying a cinema monitor as a second screen

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sinecurea, May 26, 2008.

  1. sinecurea macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #1
    Hi Folks,
    I currently have a G5 24" and a MBP.
    I was going to upgrade to a G6 iMac, but the glossy screen was the deal breaker. Stupid marketing desicion by Apple, but there you go.
    Instead, I'm going to keep the G5 iMac, and get a 23" Cinema display.
    Two simple questions - what cable comes with the monitor?
    Also, what cable do I need to buy to hook this up to my iMac and MBP? Will the same cable do both?

    Cheers!
     
  2. beige matchbox macrumors 6502a

    beige matchbox

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oxfordshire, UK
    #2
    G6 you say, hehe, i guess you mean Core2?

    If so, you know Apple made Core2Duo based iMacs in the old style white case with matt screens? They should turn up on various sites second hand :)
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Not... at... ALL what he was asking, but... You'll need a DVI to mini-DVI adapter.
     
  4. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #4
    you need a mini-DVI to DVI adapter connected to the iMac and the Cinema Display has a DVI cable.

    great display! even though its not the most updated it still has great colour and clarity!
     
  5. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #5
    Actually "G6" would be the Core Duo iMac which came along a while before Core 2 Duo was around.
     
  6. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #6
    Lol, I'd say actually there is no such thing as a G6 chipset and what he meant was an intel imac?
     
  7. sinecurea thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #7
    I meant the ****ed-up aluminum design. I take G5 to be the original white ones. When I say G6, I mean the crappy glossy-screened ones.
    Thanks to those who provided an answer.
     
  8. sinecurea thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #8
    I just had a look at the store there - I take it I need to buy a different cable for the Macbook Pro? Does the Cinema display come with a DVI cable?
    Also - what do you mean it's not the "most updated"?

    Edit - are you telling me that I need to buy this to use the monitor with a Macbook Pro?!
    http://store.apple.com/uk/product/M8661B/B
     
  9. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #9
    sorry the Cinema Display has a DVI cord so you dont need an adapter for the MBP but for the iMac you need the Mini DVI to DVI Adapter. the adapter that you linked is for the old ADC connection that the old Apple Studio Displays used. DVI is newer technology.

    the Cinema Display hasnt been updated for a while and a few other manufacturers like Dell, HP and Samsung have better inputs and specs for their high end displays but the Cinema Display still has excellent colours and images are very crisp.
     
  10. sinecurea thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #10
    Great thanks - sorry, didn't see that you'd already told me that! Order placed, cheers.
     
  11. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #11
    I assume that by "G5 24"" you mean Core 2 Duo 24".

    There's no such thing as G5 24" iMac or G6 iMac. Please use the correct terminology, some people can get confused by your post.
     
  12. sinecurea thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #12
    This is a G5 iMac:
    [​IMG]

    Mine is 24".

    G6 iMac, fair enough, but I meant the newer aluminum ones.
     
  13. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #13
    I'd like a screenshot of your "About this Mac" window. I doubt I will see a "PowerPC G5" there.

    Again, there is/was no iMac G5 with a 24" screen. :rolleyes:
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Masters macrumors newbie

    Masters

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    California
  15. portent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    #15
    No, that could be any of several iMacs:

    iMac G5 (iSight)
    iMac Core Duo
    iMac Core 2 Duo (2007)

    Don't invent your own names for things. You'll just confuse yourself, and anyone else that tries to understand you. And you'll risk getting bad advice that doesn't apply to the computer you actually have.
     
  16. sinecurea thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #16
    ...
     

Share This Page