Buying a G4 iBook, new to upgrading macs

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Mwebb86, Oct 10, 2011.

1. Mwebb86 macrumors newbie

Hey. So no, I'm not a Mac newbie, but yes, I've never done anything other than upgrade the RAM on my iMac.

I'm buying a 14" iBook G4 for a great price, and as I know how to upgrade the RAM, I don't have the slightest idea on the actual Hard Drive.

http://lowendmac.com/ibooks/14in-ibook-g4-1.2-ghz.html

That is the model I'm getting. What I'm wondering is first, will this HD work with it? http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Western Digital/WD800BEVE/

Second, while I've seen the instructional videos and what not, how do I install Snow Leopard on this new hard drive? When I turn the machine on, will it just wait for the installation cd to get in, do I need to copy it over, what's the best option? I want to start 'fresh' if that makes sense.

Some help would be appreciated, and I'm picking up the iBook tomorrow, just want to get the right answers before pulling the trigger on the new HD.

Thanks,

Marty

2. Nameci macrumors 68000

Nameci

Hello Marty, there is no way you can install Snow Leopard. Leopard is the last cat you can install on the iBook.

... and yes that HDD will work.

3. simsaladimbamba

You can't install Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard onto a PPC Mac, and an iBook is a PPC Mac and Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard is Intel only. The farthest you can "ERASE & INSTALL" is Mac OS X 10.5.8 Leopard.

4. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

What is a "great price" for a computer that can't run modern software? I wouldn't even take an iBook G4 for free at this point. Complete waste of time for everyone involved.

5. Nameci macrumors 68000

Nameci

Really, total waste of time?

And what is old software to you? So everyone should just throw away their iBooks and buy the spanking new MBA's probably? The "greatest", the "fastest"?