Buying a G5 to replace MBP

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by CWD, Aug 7, 2012.

1. CWD macrumors newbie

First of all I would just like to say hi and thanks, the information on this board is great and has taught me a lot. Its my first time posting on here, although I have been following and reading for a while now.

Our situation is as follows:

My wifes 2006 MBP needs new parts again, this time a battery (2nd one) and the HDD has just died.
    She bought it second hand in 2007 and since then we have:
    Bought 1 replacement battery from apple.
    Upgraded the ram to 4 GB (3GB)
    Upgraded the the HDD (2007)
    And along the years bought numerous software and taken it into apple for a repair ( I cant remember what for but it wasn't free! )

More information on her MBP - http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook_pro/specs/macbook-pro-core-2-duo-2.16-15-specs.html

Im not complaining, I think the above is all fairly standard. But, its got to the point where we don't want to keep throwing money at it. Its served its purpose well but I think its time for an upgrade rather than a repair now ( and to be honest I think she is just bored with it )

I have been thinking of buying a G5 tower as a replacement/upgrade for her due to its hardware expansion options should we need them in the future. Something new is not possible due to lack of funds. Peripherals, monitors and software etc are not a problem we will be using the same ones we are now.

A little information about my wife and what she does and does not need:

Works as an illustrator/designer using CS3 tools.
    Portability is now not a problem ( we have a baby on the way and she is working from home )
    The new machine must be happy handling large files, being turned on all day and being used daily ( the MBP isn't )

I know the above is nothing too intense (no 3D etc), we are just looking for a workhorse to use at home.