Buying a Mac, Advice Please!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JamonBull, Jul 6, 2010.

1. JamonBull macrumors regular

JamonBull

Ok so I've recently decided to buy a Mac, I've owned many in the past but am in need of buying a new primary machine. I'm actually studying a teaching degree at university, so portability is a HUGE factor for me (always carrying my Mac between classes so lightness and comfort is so key). Initially, I was caught up in the whole iPad craze and thought that the ultimate combo for me would be an iMac at home, an iPad at work, plus an iPhone on the side. Recently, after using my Mum's iPad for extended periods of time, I've come to realise that it just isn't a practical option for a teacher who is preparing keynote slides, lesson handouts and other documents all day, so I decided against that. I've narrowed my choices down to three options and need advice on choosing which one suits me best.

1) MacBook Air
    2) MacBook Pro 13"

Right now I'm leaning towards the MacBook Air. And I'll tell you why. All I do is prepare iWork documents, browse the web and send emails. Most of which I share between the iPhone anyway. I don't REALLY have any need for a CD drive or any of the hardware benefits of the MacBook Pro's. But there's a couple of things holding me back from the air.

1) It has a slightly older look about it (trackpad button, no black bezel). Do you think these features will ever be updated?
    2) I'm worried that if I buy a max'd out Air, Apple will will then cut it out of its product line due to the success of the iPad! What do you all think? Air is good? Or just a niche product that Apple will abandon in favour of the iPad.

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user