Buying A Mac Pro, Questions About Setup!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rossagrant, Aug 19, 2009.

1. rossagrant macrumors member

Hi guys,
    You'll have to forgive me my ignorance, I'm new to Macs and Mac Pros and just need some advice suitable for a complete noob. (thanks for your pateince).

I'm holding out til September 9th (coincidentally my birthday as well as Keynote), just incase of any free speedbumps, but I will be buying a Mac Pro that day regardless.

Essentially I will be using it for audio editing. I am a Voiceover artist and have a studio set up at home. I've got Logic Studio 9 in anticipation and will be doing most of my work with that.

I will also be using Final Cut Studio 3 to edit video, although I won't be doing too much of this.

I basically want a 1tb drive as my boot drive and from there on I need advice.
    I don't know if it's best to install another seperate drive entirely for audio files and another for video (scratch disk), or whether I use the boot disk to store audio on and have just one extra for video.
    I would also like a completely seperate drive as a Windows 7 drive in bootcamp.

Is it possible to have a completely seperate drive for Windows 7? I don't really want any windows things stored on a drive with mac files. I would prefer to keep them all apart.

I hear people banter about RAID setups with their Mac Pros but I know so little about them and how they work I really don't know what my best options are.

If it's just a case of fitting 3 or 4 seperate drives into the bays of the Mac Pro which will all play nicely togther then that would be great but I doubt it is as straight forward as that.
    Any advice wouild be great and once again so sorry for my limited knowledge. I'll soon pick it up I hope! :)

2. nanofrog macrumors G4

Audio needs really quick random access speed, and video needs fast sequential speeds.