Buying a Macbook Pro 15 but going on holiday soon...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by snazy20, Jun 16, 2011.

1. snazy20 macrumors newbie

A bit of background info first.

I've been deciding between new MBA or MBP for a while, but decided the power will be better for me than the portability, and the pro still looks good. Anyway, the next thing I was waiting for was the BTS promotion, which is now on, and I'm a student till the end of June, so I'm thinking I'll bite the bullet next week a fork out out £1,500 (hi res screen I'm thinking).

However, on the 16th July, I'm going on holiday for 5 weeks, and I won't need a laptop, so it will stay home and not be used by anyone. I'm not in urgent need of one, but want to upgrade, and have the money at the mo to do so. I was wondering whether leaving the laptop alone for 5 weeks might have a long term effect on battery life, after using it for only a few weeks before (but starting the battery life cycle...)? Or may there be any problems?

Would there be ways to avoid any possible problems, or are the MBP's that good, that I shouldn't even think about it?

Just looking for a bit of past experience from you guys, and whether I should go and get it, or hold on to July 16th (when I won't care about laptops for 5 weeks) and get it on return...

2. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

Orlandoech

Its just 5 weeks, you'll have a warranty if you have issues. Buy now and get the $100 card.

3. snazy20 thread starter macrumors newbie

Just had a chat to a few of the guys at the apple store, and explained to them the 'situation'. They said the same, and I'll buy it through student discount with £60 for 3 years worth of apple care, so IF anything happened, it will be covered anyway.

Thanks for your reply, I'll just leave it unplugged and switched off before I go, and I'll start enjoying my first mac this weekend possibly!

4. shoppy macrumors 6502a