Buying a MacBook...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by finalplayer, Feb 4, 2008.

1. finalplayer macrumors newbie

I am about to buy a MacBook, which will also be my first mac ever. Therefore, my knowledge on macs is rather limited to the absolute basics (experience when visiting friends who own a mac). I still have lots of questions, so here it goes:

1) Where should I buy it? Is the online store okay, or should I go to an actual apple reseller store (so I can come back when having questions, hardware problems, ...)?

2) Is upgrading the RAM better be done when ordering the macbook (so it's the "official" apple RAM), or should I just buy the 1GB version and upgrade with 3rd party RAM? If the answer is the latter, which can you recommend (price, quality, durability, ...)

3) How hard is the change from Windows to OS X? Is everything less or more self-explanatory? What about Windows-native programs? I'm an architecture student relying heavily on AutoCAD, which can only be run using Parallels or similar. How would it be working? (stability, speed, ...)

4) What storage type does it use? (FAT32, NTFS, ...). Will I still be able to use my external hard drives?

5) Internet issues. Is a standard modem normally mac-compatible, or should I buy a new one to be sure?

More questions will arise later I think, but answering these would be a great help. You don't have to answer them all, just say what you know.

Thanks in advance!

2. Hankster macrumors 68020

Hankster

I can answer a few:

1. Don't buy it in a store because you'll pay an extra $150 and tax. Get it online at Amazon.com, MacMall, or MacConnection because they have $75 to $150 off and there is no tax. Plus, you get the SAME machine.

2. Upgrade the RAM or HD later on because it is MUCH CHEAPER. You'll save a good 30% to 40% by doing this.