Buying a MB AIR and a MBPRO 17" need opinions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jarpod, Feb 29, 2008.

1. jarpod macrumors member

By way of introduction, im a lawyer and Im considering buying these two laptops.
    I would use the air for travel (browse the internet, and what have you)
    I would use the MBPRO 17" as a mobile desktop computer (I kinda need the
    17" widescreen to work with multiple word documents)

My questions would be:
    1.-the mid range mbpro (15") has the exact same specs as the 17" is the 300+ dollars bump worth it? I mean do 17" users are happy with their laptops? (Im considering on getting the high def option on a glossy screen)

2.- Are MB Air users happy with their laptops? Im having a hard time deciding whether its justified or not the high price of the MB AIR versus the price of the low end Macbook (I think im getting more features with the MB for a lower price)

3.- I was a "victim" of the iphone price drop... I got my 100 dollar certificate from apple, but it did not made me entirely happy... I sold my 3 month outdated 4gb iphone just to get a newer 8gb iphone for the new price. I was wondering if theres a chance that the same thing would happen with the MB Air.

Im a noob here, please pardon my ignorance if this has been asked before... I truly appreciate your time for reading my post, and hope to get some honest feedback....
    again thanks!

2. parapup macrumors 65816

parapup

I obviously cannot comment on price drop of the Air - except to say that Apple has done it very rarely if at all in the case of laptops.

MacBook Pro 17" - it boils down to an extra USB port, increased weight, increased screen real estate. If you do work which could benefit from these features go for the 17". Otherwise the 15" will do you good.