Buying a MBP 15" :: first time Mac user/newbie

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gerardo, Aug 27, 2007.

1. Gerardo macrumors newbie

Hi folks. Sorry to ask these questions that are asked very often. I spent a couple of hours reading several threads on these matters, but I am looking for some more specific answers. I decided to upgrade to a 15" MBP, the low-end one. My current laptop is a 15" Compaq Presario 2100, so I don't want to lose screen size. I compared their specs and the MBP is only 1" longer in width, and 2" smaller in depth than my Dell; but the MBP it's 4 pounds lighter. I'm a lawyer/translator so 80% of my computer time is spent with text. I watch DVD's and do some amateur photo and music editing too. I don't play games or do video editing. The Blackbook looks gorgeous and it fits my budget nicely but I've gotten used to the 15" screen. I can get a $1,799 price for the MBP with the student discount (I've been accepted in a US school), which is still a bit pricey for me (I was considering to spend $1,400), but I wouldn't mind spending it if the computer will last 3-4 years. So in that sense it's perhaps not overkill for my kind of use. Lastly, several people said in the "matte vs. glossy" threads that glossy is better for text-based work, because apparently the words look crisper, so I'm considering to go with glossy. I would use it 80% of the time to work in my room or in a normal-lit office, and 20% at the most in outdoors. Plus it's reputedly more better for movie watching. Any ideas, advice or recs? There's no Apple store in my town, unfortunately. Thanks in advance and sorry if these questions have been asked a lot.

2. Anthony8720 macrumors regular