Buying a new 13 macbook pro.. Need an advise on restore from imac..

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by soamz, Aug 14, 2010.

  1. soamz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #1
    Hi..
    I use a iMac now and a WD Ext HDD as Time Machine drive.

    Im buying a new Macbook Pro 13 this monday.

    I dont have time to sit and install all apps again..
    Is there a way to directly upload all files, folders as well as APPS directly on that new Macbook Pro via Time Machine ?
     
  2. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #3
    But does that transfer and install the APPS as well ?
     
  3. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #4
    yep
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    According to the text provided in the links I provided you: Yes.


    from http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3322

    from http://macs.about.com/od/leopard105/ss/migratevol.htm

    frpm http://www.tuaw.com/2008/10/29/6-easy-steps-to-migrate-your-mac-using-time-machine/
     
  5. TopHatPlus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    #6
    well without 10000x links and all that its really easy!!!

    open finder

    applications

    disk utilities

    plus the hdd into your usb/firewire what ever you run

    migration assistant

    and select restore from time machine backup

    it will literally restore everything top the finest detail that you had, any and all saved passwords favourite websites like EVERYTHING its pretty sweet =D
     
  6. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #7
    Ok that would be great!
    Just no OS copying. LOL!

    But my iMac has 320Gb of data.

    So, Macbook Pro has 250GB.

    How can I tell, what all to exclude , like which folders?
     
  7. TopHatPlus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Ontario
    #8
    hmmm

    well first back up all the files you are considering deleting separately from time machine on your external drive, and do that until you have cleaned up your hard drive to fit, and a 500gb hdd is super cheap for the macbooks you may want to consider this so you can actually use the macbook.
     
  8. soamz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #9
    I cant do that, since my whoe backup stays in that single 500GB ext HDD.

    Wont I be able to say the Migration Assistant, which folders to check ?


    I think, instead of firing in the air, I should first get the MB Pro and then try and then ask the questions on this.
     

Share This Page