Buying a new 27 inch iMac 2013: What's the perfect setup?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by PicnicTutorials, Dec 29, 2013.

1. PicnicTutorials, Dec 29, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013

PicnicTutorials macrumors 6502a

PicnicTutorials

Hello! Buying a new 27 iMac: What's the perfect setup?

I am a web designer. So I do dreamweaver and photoshop. Mess with pictures and vids. Nothing to heavy. But I have had a windows XP for the last 12 years. I have probably wasted 1000 hours staring at my slow computer over the years. So I would like to make up for lost time. Therefore speed is of the upmost importance for me. And who knows, once I'm not limited to a slow machine I might start playing with heavier applications or playing a game or two.

I just bought a 15 inch Macbook decked out. But after much deliberation I returned it and am now getting a iMac instead. In the end I just didn't need the portability. I have a ipad and iPhone for that. And Remote Desktop apps being what there are I can just use that if I have to code while I'm out and about.

So! What's the best setup considering the available options while checking out? I will tell you what I am leaning towards and you please tell me if you would add or subtract anything? Thanks! I am leaning towards the following upgrades...

i7 chip ($200 upgrade)
    16G ram ($200 upgrade)
    512 SSD flash memory ($500 upgrade)
    2G video card (free standard option - $150 for 4G card)
    Magic Mouse (free standard option - too used to a mouse)