Buying a new HD to replace time machine, can you transfer the time machine data?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jdl8422, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. jdl8422 macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    I have an external HD for my Time Machine. I just bought a 1TB one to replace it. I dont want to loose all my backups and start Time Machine on the new one. Can you transfer the data to the new HD and have it be recognized as the new time machine without erasing all the previous data?
     
  2. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #2
    Yes, one method is to use Disk Utility to clone the drive to another. Click on the TM drive and use the "Restore" tab to set the source and destination.
     
  3. jdl8422 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #3
    Can you clone a disk in apple's disk utility? Where is that option?
     
  4. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #4
    I thought I just gave you the info. Here's a screen grab.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. jdl8422 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #5
    Thanks! I didnt even realize the restore option let you copy a HD.
     

Share This Page