Buying a new logic board?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by videogamingtown, Mar 22, 2012.

1. videogamingtown macrumors newbie

Hey so i just bought a coke spilled macbook 2008 from ebay..opened it up and its soaking in isopropal as we speak but i must admit it isnt looking good..

i am new to macs so i was just wondering which part to buy.. i have the late 2008 model A1278 but when im looking for logic boards online i see mid 2010 models etc. with the same model number as mine.. question is will the mid 2010 work with my 2008 model or what? :confused:

Im slightly confused why they use the same model number on different years

Please help me out!

2. videogamingtown thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks what do you think my chances are of getting this working ?

the spill happened 3 months ago and main damage is under the processer and graphics chip.... it was coke that was spilled on it :?

3. videogamingtown thread starter macrumors newbie

4. iMacC2D, Mar 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017
  5. JHUFrank macrumors 6502a

JHUFrank

I think chances are low, but not totally lost. The motherboards are still pretty high on this model, you may end up with a little more invested than you thought.

6. videogamingtown thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks for replying , first attempt at booting failed , still no signs of life, but i am not giving up yet..! , can a macbook boot without thermal paste on the heatsink?

7. logana macrumors 65816

logana

It won't stop it from booting but I wouldn't let it run for very long though....

Is there any sign of life - does the fan run ? Does it charge ? Does the Magsafe have a bright led ?

Coke is probably about the worst thing you could get on the board - 99% chance of complete failure....

8. videogamingtown thread starter macrumors newbie

no noises whatsoever :(