Buying a new Macbook and need some advice.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jesscicasaywhat, Jun 24, 2015.

1. jesscicasaywhat macrumors newbie

I am new to Mac and don't know how to keep it speedy as the time when it was new! My previous PC was becoming slower and slower so that I decided to get a new one.
    Any good advice? Thanks a lot in advance!;)

2. Mixpower macrumors member

Mixpower

You don't have that problem with OSX ;)

3. Queen6 macrumors 603

Queen6

Just use your Mac as intended, OS X is a very different animal compared to Windows and in general will not slowdown appreciably if at all. The operating system will take care of it`s self in the background.

You may find this useful sooner or later
    Best way to FULLY DELETE a program

Q-6

4. jimboutilier macrumors 6502a

One of the great things about OSX is that it's there to serve you and keep you productive, not to make you its servant requiring a lot of time, expense, and effort by you to maintain it. Many Windows users have a hard time with that ;-)

That said, its not always completely self maintaining, and can have occasional issues that need to be addressed. But many users can go months or years without experiencing a problem or issue that is noticed or needs to be addressed. Then they do a little googling or reading or posting or talk to Apple Care, fix the issue and go back to enjoying their Mac.

If your use is critical (you make your living with your computer), and/or you have a tightly configured (low CPU power and SSD space for your needs), there are some things you can do or utilities you can buy to conserve resources and keep things running as quickly and efficiently as possible, but there is a reasonable debate as to how much this helps and if its worth the time and cost for most people.

5. Costino1 macrumors 6502

Costino1

All good points above.

I have a 2011 or 2012 Mac Mini running current version of OS X and the thing still runs like a champ.