Buying a new MacBook - anyone ever used Craigslist?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by cpweld, Aug 22, 2007.

1. cpweld macrumors newbie

I'm looking to buy a new computer for school (I am a university student, so if I purchase through apple I'm eligible for the educational discounts). I was going to buy the 2.16 GHz white macbook and upgrade the RAM to 2GB and potentially the hard drive to 160 GB. I need the 2 GB RAM to run VMWare Fusion or Parallels because Windows is used in my program and I was just going to use Office 2003 for Windows until the 2008 version for Mac came out, so I'd be using it often. I would also get the free ipod and printer through Apple because of the educational discounts. Before all software, this computer would cost me roughly $1810 (this is tax included).

I found a listing on Craigslist to get a 15" 2.16 GHz Macbook Pro for $1600 (originally $1800, talked down to $1600, hoping to get it down to $1500). 1 GB RAM, 120 GB hard drive. A couple of questions :
    a) Has anyone had any experience with purchasing anything expensive through Craigslist? I'd meet with the seller in person to buy the Macbook Pro, but is there anything I should check right away or ask for before hand to get checked out (i.e. serial number to make sure it's still covered under warrantee, not stolen, etc.)
    b) I would need to upgrade the RAM to 2GB probably soon for school, so this would be an additional cost. I'm fine with the smaller hard drive.

What do you think? I'm not a gamer nor do I do any video-editing, but I'd like to get a computer that will last me roughly 4 years of solid performance without any major setbacks, which is why the Pro is appealing because I can upgrade the RAM even further in the future. Suggestions?

Thanks!

2. MAW macrumors regular

I think the mbp you're looking at can only hold 3 gig o' ram. The new macbooks take 3gig now too.