Buying a New Macbook - or Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ionlygreat, Jun 18, 2008.

1. ionlygreat macrumors member

Hi guys,

I'm new to this great forum, and this is my first post! I've already gone through tons of posts, and I see that this is by far the best Mac forum I've come across.
    I'm a college sophomore (doing engineering), and I'm planning to switch to a Mac. I've checked out the new Macbook pro - I think it looks fantastic, and the new multi-touch keypad with all the cool mouse gestures is really fantastic. However, this is only available on the new pro, which retails only above 1999 (or 1699 refurbished).
    The Macbook comes with more or less the same config as the Pro - except that it doesn't have the cool gestures, and is only availabe in 13'' (these are the only differences that I care about). But it's much much cheaper - with an education discount, I can get the high-end white edition for 1199, and also get an ipod free. I can get the black for 1399 with the same deal on the ipod.
    I'm really confused about which one I should get - a laptop is a significant investment, and over the course of the next 3 years will the extra $$ i need to dish out for a pro be worth it? Which version of the macbook is 'the best bang for the buck?' Also, is there a chance that Apple will go out and add the multi-touch keypad to the Macbook later this year and thus leave me feeling cheated?

Edit: Also, does Apple offer any 4th of July or other sales over the summer ?

2. dstrauss macrumors regular

First thing first, worrying about "what may be coming" is not worth the effort unless you have some solid information that a revision is around the corner with a feature you really want or need. You can be paralyzed out of the market by waiting for the next best thing.