Buying a new MacBook Pro, Have ?'s

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PoRT55, Mar 28, 2011.

1. PoRT55 macrumors newbie

Im selling my Alienware and getting a MacBook Pro 17in. Just have a few ?'s before I buy. I want it to be fast but i also like storage.
    First question, which one do I go with? I have no knowledge on the SSD, hoping yall could help me out on which to get;

500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 RPM
    or
    128GB Solid State Drive [add $100.00]

Next is Processor
    2.2GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
    or
    2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 [add $200.00]

Next is Memory
    4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2X2GB
    or
    8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB [add $200.00]

-- Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again........Tim

2. simsaladimbamba

For storage and SSD you could look into Optibay (www.mcetech.com).
    For CPU, a 2.2GHz i7 should suffice, as the 2.3GHz i7 is not that much faster (< 5%).
    For RAM look into MacSales or Newegg, as upgrading RAM and HDD/SSD will not void the warranty, and is cheaper when done aftermarket.

Helpful Information for Any Mac User by GGJstudios

3. PoRT55 thread starter macrumors newbie

What exactly is an SSD? Its an internal storage device like a hard drive but faster? 128gigs is not enough space for me and the 500 gig SSD is out of my price range. I apologize, i would be searching google to learn myself, but my alienware is broke and all i have is mycell phone to search. Seriously, any help at all on this will be greatly appreciated. I need to go buy the mac soon. Thanks again

4. simsaladimbamba

An SSD is a faster storage device and is up to five times faster than a conventional HDD, especially when opening applications and documents and the computer will just feel snappier.

5. Verix macrumors regular

A mac is extremely easy to upgrade yourself. I would advice to go with normal processor, normal RAM; and afterwards upgrade RAM yourself.