Buying a new Macbook Pro, upgradable?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by happyfish., Jun 1, 2013.

1. happyfish. macrumors newbie

Questions about memory and harddrive upgrades. I am a college student and am looking to buy a new laptop during the back to school promotion which I was led to believe will start with the new MacBooks after WWDC. I am wondering what to get in order to get the most for my money as well as long term value. I am inclined toward the non-retina 13" MacBook Pro as I am worried about long term battery depletion (over 5 years) plus I like having an optical drive for when traveling the developing world where internet is not a fact of life. The set up I am looking at currently is the

13-inch: 2.9GHz
    2.9GHz dual-core Intel Core i7
    Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
    8GB 1600MHz memory
    750GB 5400-rpm hard drive1
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    Built-in battery (7 hours)2

My question is can the hard drive be upgraded to a SSD after purchase either on my own or by a retailer and can the memory be upgraded and if so what to? If I were to buy the lowest level of HDD and memory from Apple would I be able to upgrade via 3rd party without voiding my Apple Care? Also I would be able to get the student discount which i think saves $10 off memory upgrades and $20 off of hard drive upgrades, is that worth doing through Apple or would a OWC SSD still be better/cheaper. I will be using the laptop for travel (internet/email/DVDs), office suite apps/school work, light photo editing and movie screen sharing via Apple TV. Any thoughts? Thanks

2. hallux macrumors 68020

hallux

You'll save more than that student discount if you get your SSD elsewhere. Also, OWC isn't the end-all of Mac upgrades. Apple uses a standard SATA connection, pretty much ANY SSD will work, many here use the Samsung 840 series. Same goes for memory, there's nothing special about Macs there either.

Upgrading those yourself will NOT void your warranty.