Buying a stylus. Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'iPad Accessories' started by AVInc, Mar 26, 2011.

1. AVInc macrumors member

I see many products online for stylus and many videos on YouTube of people using it.

Is it worth it to buy a stylus for $15 or so?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

2. katyoshi macrumors 6502

I use it with penultimate not for taking notes, but using it during meetings, work, show people example drawings etc. Very light stuff. It's difficult to find the perfect note taking app smooth enough to use a stylus. For notes, I just type.

3. phantomsd macrumors 6502

phantomsd

Just bought a BoxWave stylus ($15 on Amazon... Supposedly the best) for some doodling and light note taking... Also with PenUltimate. I'm a graphic/web designer trying to go paperless :D

4. deeddawg macrumors 604

Is it worth buying a chainsaw? A blender? A sewing machine?

All depends on if you'll use it or not.

I have a stylus specifically for highlighting PDF files via PDF Expert. Works better than using my finger in this instance. I never use it for other stuff though.

So point is, a stylus is worth it if you have a need for a stylus. Otherwise it isn't. :)

5. whiskeyred macrumors regular

I use the boxwave all the time and really like it. I also have an Alupen and it is solid as well. I take a lot of notes at work, do simple sketches and find myself discovering more ways to use them both. I recommend one and for the price of the boxwave it's worth it - IMO. The Alupen is thicker, and great for drawing I can also write well with it but prefer the boxwave for writing.

6. KylePowers, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011

KylePowers macrumors 68000

KylePowers

To the OP,

I recently bought a Targus stylus from my school's book store (Apple section). I had been researching styluses for awhile, but decided to just pick one up locally just in case I wanted to return it.