Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Compile 'em all

macrumors 601
Original poster
Apr 6, 2005
Hello Everyone,

I have finally decided to buy a PowerBook and enter the Mac World.
However, I am currently studying in Germany.The problem is that I
don't know if it is possible to buy a PB from the German online apple
store with a US-keyboard layout. As well, I want all the s/w installed
on the PB to be in English.
I can't buy the PB directly from the US store because it will be subject
to additional taxes in Germany!!!

I have never used MacOS X before (GNU/Linux user here). But from what I
have read it is easy to switch the OS language, is that possible as well for
the other pre-installed s/w.

In a nutshell, I want to buy a US PB from a non-US online apple store, Is it
possible? (I have no problems with the price, just a matter of localization).

Any suggestions/ideas are welcome,
Thanx.

geese

macrumors 6502a
Oct 23, 2003
London, UK
Compile 'em all said:
In a nutshell, I want to buy a US PB from a non-US online apple store, Is it
possible? (I have no problems with the price, just a matter of localization).

Any suggestions/ideas are welcome,
Thanx.

Why not try and buy one from the UK or Ireland store? As its within the EU you shouldn't be heaped with additional taxes, and it'll be in English.

But i've noticed that if you try and order a PB from the UK shop, you have a choice of either English or the French version (why not other languages?). Maybe you can give the German Apple store a call, may be able to sort you out an English version.

If Apple get difficult, buy a mac from a non apple UK store, like http://www.dabs.com

handy?

w00tmaster

macrumors regular
Jun 21, 2004
While I was in Japan