Buying a vaccuum

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by 7on, Aug 31, 2009.

1. 7on macrumors 601

7on

I need some advice on buying a vaccuum. Our $50 one bought about 3 years ago isn't cutting the mustard anymore and we need a new one. Budget is roughly $100-150 but I'm not an expert so if there's a significant difference with a $200 one I'm sure we can splurge on it.

Thanks

2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

Well, what does it need to do?
    Floors, mainly? Carpeted? Wood? Sheet Vinyl? Vinyl Composition Tiles?

If carpet AND one or more of the others above, you'd really like a model that has a rotating brush that can be turned off. That brush can damage wood and some sheet vinyl products.

There are several such models to choose from. When we needed a new vacuum a few years ago, the Panasonic MC-V5744 was our choice. It was reasonably priced, and is flexible.

3. rdowns macrumors Penryn

rdowns

4. Gav2k macrumors G3

Gav2k

Dunno how much dysons are over there but you can't beat them.

5. iShater macrumors 604

iShater

I think we spent around $180 or so on a Bissel liftoff a few years back. I love it, but the cost of replaces the HEPA air filter adds up over time and I don't like cleaning filters.

We are planning to get a Dyson soon to replace it. The cost over the life of the vacuum ends up being the same.

6. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

Darth.Titan

When it comes to vacuums, I won't buy anything but an Electrolux anymore. End of story.

Just remember that when choosing a vacuum (like so many other things) you get what you pay for.

7. agkm800 macrumors 6502a

agkm800

Dyson doesn't use HEPA filter??

8. d_and_n5000 macrumors 6502a

d_and_n5000

No...I'm not certain how all it works, but there's a removable filter, and the cyclones spin dirt out of the air as well.