Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hallstein

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 1, 2010
Hi !

I am considering an iMac, since they just got updated.
I'm definately buying a 27", because i will be doing loads of image editing (my gf is a photographer), audio (im a guitarist) and video editing (private video) More spesific, the 1699$ model. (3,2ghz i3/4gb/1tb/5670or5750)

But what i am trying to find out, is if i will be able to enjoy games like Crysis, Starcraft 2, Half Life 2, Portal, and future games, AT ALL, on the cheapest 27" iMac without upgrading the graphics. (Both Steam for mac/Bootcamp)

And if yes, how big is the difference in terms of FPS/Graphics settings/etc. in these two graphicscards... If i can run Crysis on the 5670 on 1600x1200 high settings + a little AA, i will be more than satisfied. And if the difference is 4-5 FPS in games, i really dont think its worth the upgrade.

Any advice is appreciated :D

henrikrox

macrumors 65816
Feb 3, 2010
Hi !

I am considering an iMac, since they just got updated.
I'm definately buying a 27", because i will be doing loads of image editing (my gf is a photographer), audio (im a guitarist) and video editing (private video) More spesific, the 1699$ model. (3,2ghz i3/4gb/1tb/5670or5750)

But what i am trying to find out, is if i will be able to enjoy games like Crysis, Starcraft 2, Half Life 2, Portal, and future games, AT ALL, on the cheapest 27" iMac without upgrading the graphics. (Both Steam for mac/Bootcamp)

And if yes, how big is the difference in terms of FPS/Graphics settings/etc. in these two graphicscards... If i can run Crysis on the 5670 on 1600x1200 high settings + a little AA, i will be more than satisfied. And if the difference is 4-5 FPS in games, i really dont think its worth the upgrade.

Any advice is appreciated :D