Buying advice: 6 core Mac Pro or 15" Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by boulderarch, Apr 5, 2017.

1. boulderarch, Apr 5, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017

boulderarch macrumors newbie

I am an architect and currently have a 2012 Mac Mini at work. It does just fine for most tasks, but struggles in one of my 3D CAD programs with graphics. Saving files could be faster as well. It also can only drive 2 of my 3 1080p monitors (one of which is a 42" TV mounted on the wall). Most of time is spent using software that only uses single threaded operations (1 cpu core), so the multi core advantage is only useful to me 5% of my time.

I'm going to upgrade to either a 6 core Mac Pro or a 15" Macbook Pro used primarily in clamshell mode.

The base 15" model is faster than the 6 core in single speed and I would also get a laptop out of it. I currently have a 2011 matte screen 15" Macbook Pro at home and would still keep that. This new configuration would only be used at work. It seems it might be better to go with the Macbook Pro since I get a laptop out of the deal if I ever need it. The only difference seems to be the multicore score. It is even less expensive than a refurb 6 core.

I still can't stand the iMac glossy screen and dislike reaching around the back over my large desk to reach the ports. In reality that CPU is really what I should have. Hopefully the new redesigned 2018-19 Mac Pro will work. Or a new USBC iMac might have a less glossy screen and allow for a more accessible port hub.

Or should I just get the iMac? Fastest single core speed by far, same multicore speed as the 6 core, less than a new 6 core and only $200 more than the refurb 6 core.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

2. ixxx69 macrumors 6502a