Buying advice: iPad 1 or iPad 2

Discussion in 'iPad' started by JimmyMac123, Apr 3, 2011.

1. JimmyMac123 macrumors newbie

I've been thinking recently of getting an iPad now that the 1st gen costs less than the 2nd gen. But I just cant decide between the ipad 1 and the ipad 2.

These are the prices for the 1st gen ipad:

16gb wifi only: 350€
    32gb wifi only: 399€

iPad 2nd gen prices:

16gb wifi only: 479€
    32gb wifi only: 579€

I'm a business student and also have an office job. I do a bit of traveling to conferences and seminars. And feel that an iPad would be a better fit for me when i'm on the go. Usually I travel with a MacBook but rarely open it up.

I would use the ipad for:

Checking email
    Writing email
    Web browsing
    Skype calling and chating
    Movies
    YouTube videos
    Reading PDFs
    Taking notes

Can you help me to decide which model I should buy? should I buy the ipad 2 or save my money and buy the ipad 1?

Thanks in advance

2. gameboy213 macrumors 6502

gameboy213

2. No regrets here on my upgrade.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

3. C N Reilly macrumors regular

In terms of actual performance, the only difference between the 1 and 2 is how fast it is and how much RAM it has. So the 2 will load pages and apps faster (though not "oh-my-god-how-did-i-ever-live-with-the-first-gen" faster) and the extra RAM means you're far less likely to have to wait for web pages to reload when you switch between windows in Safari.

So unless you've got the type of personality where every millisecond of speed will have you a little less likely to tear your hair out, you don't need to feel like you're missing out on a lot by going with the first-gen. Is the iPad 2 nicer? Yeah. But if €130 or so is a meaningful amount of savings for you, then buy the first-gen and you should be quite happy.

4. TheWheelMan macrumors 6502a

TheWheelMan