:Buying Advice: Mac or PC for Graphics and Multimedia

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by HiDEF, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. HiDEF macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #1
    What is the industry using now-a-days?

    I'm in the market for a computer--I also work with Graphics and Multimedia-- and I'm wondering if I can save some $$$ by electing to go with a high-end PC laptop?
     
  2. TechGod macrumors 68040

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    I'm pretty certain rMBP 15" are comparable in price to other laptops.

    But if not, I think the ThinkPad line is amazing.
     
  3. flameproof macrumors 6502a

    flameproof

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #3
    If you do serious work with Graphics and Multimedia I would always go with a desktop. Bigger screens, multiscreen options.

    And expects lots of money for the software too.

    I never used a Mac, but they seem to have a good reputation. I would start with a price chart, including the software, and then then check what fits my budget most.
     
  4. HiDEF thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #4
    :Buying Advice: Mac or PC for Graphics and Multimedia


    I should have mentioned that I use a Mac Pro at work.

    This purchase will be personal but I will be bringing my work home.
     
  5. McCool71 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    #5
    I guess a Mac Pro would be a good choice then.

    Depends on what you are going to use if for though; some of the major software packages (Photoshop/Illustrator/Indesign+++) are identical on PC and Mac - it does not really matter what platform you run them on.
     
  6. flameproof macrumors 6502a

    flameproof

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #6
    Then I guess you know well when you can and can't do with it. Just keep in mind the cost of the added software.

    This said, depending on how smart one is, if you go for a PC the software could be different, means you may have to learn a lot, again.

    Lazy me would certainly go for a Mac if used to it.
     
  7. nfl46 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #7
    Graphics and Multimedia....you always go with Macs....
    Gaming...you always go with PCs.
     
  8. MRU Suspended

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #8
    Graphic design and typesetting here, and it's still mac-centric whenever I deal with printers / duplicators or others in the industry.

    Buy a decent retina macbook pro 15" and a PS4 for your gaming ;)
     
  9. jamezr macrumors G4

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #9
    Words of truth to live by......
     
  10. HiDEF thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #10
    Will a base model be enough or should I bump the processor and ram? Again, I have a Mac Pro at work so all the heavy editing will be on my work machine.
     
  11. MRU Suspended

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #11
    The base model is still very powerful, you know from work what you will be doing on it, but yeah I'm sure a base models CPU would still be very good :) Also - look at the refurb deals from apple - just in case you spot a bargain.
     
  12. Nyy8 macrumors 6502a

    Nyy8

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    New England
    #12
    What are the specs of your work machine? and what kind of work do you do?

    Photoshop? AE?

    I would think the base model would be more then enough.
     
  13. HiDEF thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #13

    MRU, do you work off a 13" or 15"? I know it's more of a personal decision but I'm curious to what others work off.
     
  14. MRU Suspended

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #14
    Well my home and work place are the same thing, so generally I always have access to my mac pro - however whenever I am away its a 13" MBA I use myself for stuff away from the desk.

    To be honest, I notice its not as fast clearly as my desktop, and it's not got 27" screen like my desktop, but it's never too much of an issue working on it.

    I have a small wacom intuos for working with it when I am also as I just really can't do any work without my tablet as a lot of my stuff is illustrating too. :)

    I'll likely sell my MBA next year and get the rumoured 12" Retina MBA if it ever materilaises.
     
  15. HiDEF thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #15
    I don't have the specs to my work computer but I'm working with mostly premier and photoshop.
     
  16. Nyy8 macrumors 6502a

    Nyy8

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    New England
    #16
    I'd say you would be fine with the base model.

    A 27 inch iMac would also work for you. Both the base model of the Mac Pro and the maxed out iMac have quad core CPUs. Expect the Quad Core i7 is 3.4GHz, so single core operations may be faster. It would also come with a 1440p display and you'd probably save about $500 with the iMac. Just something to think about.
     
  17. HiDEF thread starter macrumors 68000

    HiDEF

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #17

    Do you mean the maxed out base model for the iMac or configure through Apple Store?
     
  18. Nyy8 macrumors 6502a

    Nyy8

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    New England
    #18
    configured though Apple.com. It would be like 2,600 for a 780M, a 256GB SSD, and a Core i7.
     

Share This Page