Buying Advice Needed for A New Convert!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by VitaminC, Jan 31, 2008.

1. VitaminC macrumors newbie

I am a first year undergraduate student. I have been using PCs all my life, but I think this is the time for me to switch to Apple and its OSX. It also happens that I have just received my student loan check, and while I know this might be real stupid.. I decided to blow it all on a brand new, shiny, Apple iMac.

Problem is, this is a huge decision for me. Its a large sum of money for a student like myself, and I know I will be skint for a very, very, long time. Therefore I want to spend it in the most efficient way and get my money's worth. I want a really good deal. So please direct me to the best possible direction, and correct any mistakes you see:

1- 2.4 VS 2.8, which model to get?
    I know I will be getting a %13 discount with my HE discount (UK) with my purchase. Now I have used the search function and came to the conclusion that I should be getting the 2.4 model. That is firstly because the difference will only be noticed when encoding a video and will shave off a couple of minutes of the total time it would have otherwise taken. Another reason is that you are paying for the an extra gig of ram from apple which is a rip-off (I could go around this by getting the 2.4 and upgrading the processor and HD, but I want to buy from a physical store and not the online.. that leaves me with the 2.4 model).

2- Gradient issue. I have tried checking the gradient problem myself in an apple store but couldnt notice anything. I certainly wouldnt be going to look for problems but whats a way that I can use to check if the machine I will be getting has this particular problem or not?