Buying advice on 15" rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by neuronik, Jul 3, 2013.

1. neuronik macrumors newbie

Hi guys. Complete mac newbie here. Always been a Windows (and Linux) user but I have decided to take the plunge and try OS X. Also I really really like the retina screen and the 16:10 ratio.

I am eyeing the base model with 2.4/8/256 and educational discount. Unfortunately there are no refurbished base models available here in the UK. I have 2 questions:

1. Do you think 16GB ram are vital? I am going to run one VM all the time (Ubuntu).

2. I can wait until the end of August but I need a new machine by September. Do you think there is any chance of an update on the 15 rMBP before September?

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Unless you'll be running a number of VMs simultaneously no, 16gb is not vital, its more of protection for the future, i.e., the ram is soldered onto the logic board. Even then if you're planning on keeping the laptop for 3 years or so then you may not even need the 16gb.

I'm thinking they'll be updating the machines in September or October not August but that's just my wild guess.

3. Memole macrumors member

well 8GB of ram will be good for next 2-4 years :)
    and since you said that you have been using Linux and Windows well good news for you
    you can run without problems in Native EFI mode both Linux and Windows so you dont need to run virtual machine as they will run on your macbook without any issues :)

and 15 rMBP wont be updated before September/October :(

4. zombiedave macrumors newbie

I was in the same boat as you, a windows man for years, but been using iOS for 4 years and thought, sod it! Going to go mac!

I have not received mine yet ( preparing for dispatch as i type) but I have been playing with a friends. Mac is taking some getting used to as I actually at this time prefer windows still.....but I think only because I am familiar with windows.