Buying Advice?? Please and Thank You

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by happypeople, Aug 20, 2014.

1. happypeople macrumors member

Hello Everyone!

I am looking for some buying advice on the rMBP and would appreciate any opinions or tips anyone is wiling to share with me.

I am currently using a mid 2009 13" MacBook Pro
    2.53 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo,
    4GB ram,
    480 GB transcend SSD that I installed,
    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256MB).

I am interested in getting the 15" rMBP with the following specs:
    2.8GHz quad core intel core i7, turbo boost up to 4.0GHz
    512GB PCIe SSD
    16GB ram
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M

My use is extremely varied. I am a university student doing physics & energy science, looking to transfer to engineering. So my computer will be used everyday for school work.

I also use Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom daily as well as other photography software. (Note that I will be using external drives to store my raw images and edited images. If anyone has any recommendations on any reliable usb 3 or thunderbolt 1 or 2 portable external drives that are not super expensive, I would appreciate the feedback.)

I do some minor video editing and rendering in 720p and 1080p.
    I would like the ability to run 1-2 displays at 1920 x 1080 at 60-120Hz if possible. (Not sure what cables / adapters I would need for this).

Very light and infrequent gaming, nothing more than Civilization 5, minecraft and maybe portal every now and again.

I also primarily use my computer for my movie viewing and music listening - my entire music collection will be stored on the machine and not on external drives. I do not use iCloud for my iPhone or iPad backups.

I always have at least 4 desktops running at once. The ability to have multiple browsers, Photoshop, Lightroom, iTunes, pages, one note and any other software running smoothly all at once is ideal.