Buying Advise AppleCare Protection Plan MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by winty03, Mar 11, 2008.

1. winty03 macrumors regular

Good Afternoon All,

After 15 years of PC use I am switching over, or in the process of. Had a question on the AppleCare Plan. Do the majority of people purchase the plan or is it a waste of time and $? This is going to be my first Mac, so I am a bit hesitant on the APP. Purchase it or not?

2. BowZinger macrumors member

Personally I got it, many will say it's a waste but why not have the insurance?

I mean if you can afford a macbook or a macbook pro then you can afford the apple care.

I get it because I am a college student and I would like to have the 3 year total protection!

Please note that if you get the applecare it makes the total amount of protection 3 (THREE) years...it doesn't add on 3!

My thoughts, go for it!

3. conchshell macrumors member

you have 11 months or something to decide. i would get it w/o the warranty and then think about it. perhaps at one point you'll find a great deal on applecare somewhere and it will be worth it.

my exp w/ visa has been very positive re: extended warranty and b/c the applecare does not express ship from your house (you always have to drop it off somewhere from my exp), isn't onsite, no special level of care I have noticed, nor provides any other benefits more than more time (and extra phone support :rolleyes:), to me its not worth it.

4. WindowsOrMac macrumors newbie

Just to clarify the answer for you. DEFINITELY GET IT. Apple charges a lot to fix/replace if it isn't under warranty. BUT, do not buy it until the 1 year warranty is about to lapse (a year from the date you purchase) so that you add the 3 years of applecare/warranty to the end. If you buy it with the mac, it basically just replaces the 1 year warranty with a 3 year warranty (so you don't get 4 years of total waranty coverage).