Buying Advise: High end 13'' MBP VS Base 15" MBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by BigWalt, Feb 24, 2011.

1. BigWalt macrumors regular

BigWalt

Hello folks,

I am planing on buying my very first MacBook Pro, however I have never personally owned a Mac. I am trying to decide which MBP would be best for myself.

13" MBP:
    2.7GHz Dual-core Intel Core i7 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpmSuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)NoneBacklit Keyboard (English)

Or

15" MBP:
    2.0GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB500GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpmSuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)MacBook Pro 15-inch Glossy Widescreen DisplayNoneBacklit Keyboard (English)

I am a basic user and only real use will be for simple word documents, internet, netflix, and some basic HTML coding. I am planning on keeping my HP desktop PC so the MBP will prob just be used when im on the go or out of town for work.

Yes I'm a noob, sorry lol

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

The only thing that really matters for the basic user if they insist on buying the latest model is screen size. Any machine since about 2006 can handle "simple word documents, internet, netflix, and some basic HTML coding."

3. KittyKatta macrumors 6502a

KittyKatta

Screen size is a big factor, but personally I prefer saving money on a smaller notebook screen and a large monitor for when I'm doing serious work.

But as for basic users, I always recommend they check out Apples refurb store because if you don't need the latest and greatest then you can save big money with last years model.

4. BigWalt thread starter macrumors regular

BigWalt

Yes screen size is the only reason for wanting a MBP, I refuse to buy another pc that i need to replace every year almost.

5. r0k macrumors 68040

r0k