Buying advise - What options might work for me the best

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ZeusMutation, Feb 25, 2015.

1. ZeusMutation macrumors newbie

Hi All,

First post, I apologize in advance if this is the wrong place for my questions.

I'm able to afford upgrading my computer. This will probably be the only expendable funds for upgrading my machine so, my thoughts are to get the "goods" while I can.

Currently using a late 2006 24" iMac w/3GB RAM

In truth I don't do much with my home computer anymore. It's become mostly a Internet surfer. The majority of storage is filled with music and photos. I'm an audio engineer, some files are large.
    Using an external drive is a neccecity for me. I'm looking for fast file transfer, I mean fast. Two issues I have now, and not surprisingly, is any file over 2gb takes longer than I want using FW800. If I try and play a video file from an EHD the audio lag & image quality suck.

I'm asumming any new machine should fix my issues. I'd also like my next iMac to last as long as this one. (actually typing on 1st gen iPad w/wi-fi) ugh!!

I was going to order a 5k Retina. My questions:
    1. upgrade GC to M295X or no? I read heat issues make it a potential bad choice.
    2. Web pages display poorly, at this time. Resizing needed, will I notice any wow browsing sites? True or False
    3. How long should the tech in the new machine be relevant, realistically?

I don't play any computer games
    I feel the machine is way more than I need, yet I don't want a smaller screen. If they offered a non-retina 24" I'd probably get that model. Retina seems like the future more than the now? Obviously IDK.

What will give me the most gain regarding web pages loading as fast as possible and the ability to watch HD video from external HD's?

27" 5k
    8gb ram - ill upgrade to 16 myself.
    graphic card choice still undecided
    516gb flash