Buying an Iphone off ebay

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SMirarchi87, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. SMirarchi87 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #1
    Ok,(before I start, I'm not the brightest crayon in the box, so pelaaaase just help me out) so say I buy a iphone off of ebay, can I just stick my reg. 3g sim card in there and bam..we're good to go? or would I still have to register it or what?
     
  2. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #2
    Need clarification, are you talking the v1 iPhone or the 3G iPhone?:confused:
     
  3. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #3
    Why would you bother to get it for $700:confused:

    Also, if its unlocked: Yes! You're good 2 go!
    If its locked: No! You're not!
     
  4. SMirarchi87 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #4
    either 1...tell me for both please??
     
  5. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #5
    v1 iPhone, yes, you can do that; you would need to get the voice plan from AT&T and a data plan for $20 a month.

    3G iPhone, can only be activated with AT&T at present, so the Apple/AT&T people will have a new SIM card already installed and activation via iTunes by Apple/AT&T automatically bricks the SIM card that currently works with your assigned number; voice plan required and the data plan is $30 per month. Now, just go home and add your contacts, music, video, TV shows, podcasts, etc... You should be good to go. :cool:
     
  6. redrory macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #6
    Tingling feeling inside

    just when you said, add your contacts, music and video.. I got the tingling feeling inside. I should be getting my v1 verson tomorrow :D. ( Cant bother with 3g)
    I took the CL route though.
     
  7. pol0001 macrumors 6502

    pol0001

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Got my iPhone (version 1) that I bought on ebay, yesterday. Used Pwnage to upgrade it to 2.0.1 and now it's working fine with my O2 (Germany) SIM card.
     

Share This Page