Buying an iPhone without credit history and Early Termination Fee

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by velascarlos, Sep 5, 2009.

1. velascarlos macrumors newbie

Hello all,

I am a student who has just land on the USA. I am gonna stay here for 8 months as an exchange student studding abroad.

I pretend to buy an iPhone 3GS with a 2 years contract with AT&T and break the contract after 8 months (when I am going back to my home country) and pay the Early Termination Fee (175$ - (8x5) = 135$)

I was today on an AT&T store, and when I was about to buy the iPhone they check my SSN and they realize that I haven't any credit history (obviously, because this is my first time on the USA), so, they asked me for a 500$ deposit refundable after a year.

At that moment I told them that I was planning to break the contract after 8 months because of my exchange student circumstances and I asked them if I will receive my deposit back even I break the contract and pay the ETF. They answer that they will give me back the deposit minus the ETF, so I will get my deposit back.

The point is that I am not sure that they will give me back my 500$ deposit if I break the contract before a year. They told me "yes" today, but they can tell me "no" after 8 months. I have neither see that written on the AT&T website..

Thank you in advance.

2. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

jackiecanev2

Wirelessly posted (BB 8900: BlackBerry8900/4.6.1.250 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/301)

They have no grounds for holding your deposit provided you have paid for the service and paid their termination fee upon closing your account.

3. iFerd macrumors 6502a