Buying an old BMW...advice?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Go Dog Go, May 12, 2009.

1. Go Dog Go macrumors member

Hey there everyone! Here's my situation.

I'm a 21 year old student, and I am looking for a new car. I am going to be road tripping/moving up to Washington for the Summer from Southern California, and I'd like to get a new car before then (about 1 month from now).

I surf, road bike, but I don't have much stuff other than that. Just clothes. I was thinking about getting a Ford Escape because I could put my board on top or inside, and for sure fit a road bike in the back.

I've always been a fan of driving (I don't race, but I love to drive). On the other end of the spectrum, I have my eyes on a CalypsoRed 1996 BMW 328i, Sedan, fully loaded.

Now, I usually wouldn't consider a car this old, but the car is pristine. 1 owner, 70K miles, fully maintained, records, preventitive maintenance, and the best part...it's a 5-speed!

So I'm up on the fence right now. If I get the BMW, I'll be getting a roof rack to put my surfboard on it. It would be a great car to drive, and is very nice. Also gets wonderful gas mileage.

On the other hand, an Escape is very useful. Has lots of room, but is boring to drive, very plain, etc.

I need some advice here. I am not a poor student (I've been working well-paid internships for the last 9 months), so a bit of maintenance here and there isn't an issue.

Also, when I move back to school in the fall, I won't be driving much. Maybe just to the beach ocassionally (8 miles), and back home every few months (300 miles).

2. davidwarren macrumors 6502a

how much?

edit- oh, the car as a whole will last a long time, it's just little things that will start needing to be replaced that will start to add up. Why not try and find an e46? They are going pretty cheap now. I had a '96 328i when they were new, great car at the time, still a good car, especially if it is in the condition you say.

3. quagmire macrumors 603