Buying an SSD / Data Doubler

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by josephmccutchen, Oct 20, 2011.

1. josephmccutchen macrumors member

I am thinking of buying an SSD and a Data Doubler soon, and I have a few questions:

1. Right now I have a Western Digital Scorpio Black 750GB 7200RPM HDD in the main bay. When I buy the SSD/Data Doubler, I'm thinking of taking the WD and putting it in the opti-bay. Is that a good idea?

2. I'm new to this whole SSD thing, so I'm thinking of buying only a 64 or 128GB SSD for now; I have about 400 GB of files, but I can put all of those on the HDD, and use Time Machine to back up as well. Is that a good idea?

3. Kind of the same idea as #2, but in a different way: how will the performance be if I keep all of my files on the HDD, and just use the SSD for applications?

4. The biggest reason why I want to buy an SSD is performance. I have around 30,000 photos in iPhoto, and it takes time to open.

5. Last question: which SSD to get? I have a mid-2010 MBP 15", so I'm pretty sure that the SATA 6 is no use to me. Just not sure what would be the best.

Any help in this matter is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

2. Erasmus macrumors 68030

Erasmus

Samsung 470 is probably best, if not I think Intel 320 is pretty good too (Both SATA 2.0).

A small SSD (128GB or less) is probably fine, depending on what kind of apps you want. If you've only got 10-20 GB of apps, it's probably big enough.

Probably best to keep your OS and at least the libraries out of your home folder on the SSD. You can put music wherever you want, and just link iTunes to that folder. I don't know exactly how things work, but I think you'll only get the benefit of using an SSD if all iPhoto's thumbnails and stuff is on the SSD. I assume it won't matter too much if the photos themselves are on the HDD, as you'll only be looking at a small number a minute.