Buying an unlocked iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by yanki01, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. yanki01 macrumors 68040

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Just a general question which i'm not too familiar regarding unlocked devices. I have always bought my iPhones with a 2yr contract and the subsidized price. I currently have an iPhone 6 that I got on launch day last year. What if I were to buy an unlocked iPhone 6. Can I still activate it being I'm still under a contract? If so, what about my current iPhone? will I be able to unlock that device? Thanks
     
  2. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #2
    Yes you can and your phone will not lock itself if you purchased a factory unlocked device. As for your current phone, it is still under contract so you won't be able to unlock it. But you could try requesting it to get it unlocked.
     
  3. yanki01 thread starter macrumors 68040

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
  4. nostresshere macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #4
    I am confused. Why would you buy a 2nd phone and activate it. And then do what with the other phone?
     
  5. ET iPhone Home macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #5
    Just an FYI. I always purchase unlocked. When I purchased my 6+ factory unlocked, it wasn't released until early January the following year. Just be prepared to wait.
     
  6. yanki01 thread starter macrumors 68040

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    don't care for the color or want a bigger storage. give the other phone to my wife who's on my plan possibly? though she's due for an upgrade and more than likely would want a brand new one than my refurbished iPhone.
     
  7. yanki01 thread starter macrumors 68040

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #7
    the factory unlocked iPhone 6+ wasn't released until Jan?
     
  8. MacKai macrumors regular

    MacKai

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    East Bay Area, CA
    #8
    In the US, the GSM version of the A1522 iPhone is sold unlocked and without a contract on T-Mobile. It does not support CDMA networks. Apple refers to this model as the "T-Mobile" iPhone. If you want the unlocked iPhone that supports CDMA you with have to wait till Jan or buy the Verizon version. Which would be CDMA locked to Verizon.
     
  9. nburwell macrumors 68040

    nburwell

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    PHL
    #9
    Verizon and T-Mobile iPhone models (if purchased from Apple, for the T-Mobile model) are factory unlocked. However, Apple does't normally release the "SIM Free" iPhone until a few months after.
     
  10. ET iPhone Home macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #10
    In January 2015, Apple released an unlocked 6/6+ which worked with all carriers - GSM and CDMA. This was the one I made an exchange for. I remember purchasing the T-Mobile prior to Christmas and because of the generous holiday return policy, I was able to exchange the T-Mobile Contract Free iPhone 6+ for the GSM/CDMA version. This was the model I speak of that was released January 2015.
     
  11. CoriG macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #11
    Can you use the T-mobile phone on ATT? I am curious because I want to buy a phone on launch day that works with att for full price
     
  12. Cergman macrumors 6502a

    Cergman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Location:
    my tesla
    #12
    Absolutely, that's what I'm using right now and it works perfectly. Just be sure you buy it from Apple directly or else it won't be unlocked.
     
  13. CoriG macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    #13
    That might be the solution for me. I have unlimited data on AT&T and I am trying to decide as to whether I should keep it and buy a phone outright or switch to mobile share and get 20 gigs of data for the same price and do AT&T next.
     
  14. yanki01 thread starter macrumors 68040

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    I would keep the unlimited (as long as you're not throttled anymore). I switched to mobile share because I was saving money having my wife and mom still on the plan. I was also being throttled after 5GB which is withing about a week of the billing cycle.

    I don't ever remember using as much data as I do. I would remember I would use no more than 3-5GB/month on my iP5. then suddenly usage started going up like crazy. now I average about 12-15GB/month. doing the same as I did before.
     
  15. rigormortis, Aug 28, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2015

    rigormortis macrumors 68000

    rigormortis

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #15
    this is totally NOT TRUE

    i ask that the post changed.

    the iPhone 6 that was sold on launch day had its CDMA radio ENABLED. It fully supported VERIZON at the time. however, verizon would not activate it but nothing stopped you from inserting a pre-activated verizon sim. this was also the deal with the iPad air. they both had CDMA working. it was CDMA it just wasn't on verizons list of Verizon Devices.

    see my original post on apple discussion. i was able to switch my TMO back and forth from TMO to Verizon and backw ith no limitations what so ever.
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/6552532

    Sprint continues to treat the Tmobile unlocked iPhone as a non sprint device. and it will refuse sprint sims.

    update to this would be this week Verizon has announced that they took every single iPhone 6 and 6 plus ever made no matter if you bought the T-mobile version or the Sim FREE unlocked version , and witelisted them all. so no matter when you bought your iPhone 6 or 6 plus, if you want verizon, you just go walk into the store and tell them to switch you over

    the only other difference between the TMOBILE unlocked and the SIM FREE unlocked is that the sim free is white listed on sprint and it has the 4 extra spark channels. but as far as CDMA and LTE go, THEY ARE THE EXACT SAME PHONE, its just one had a happy serial # and the other was a sad serial #

    i have some old posts on mac rumors as well about this iPhone and verizon situation back in september 2014. but I'm too lazy to google them for you

    oh furthermore verizon does not LOCK cdma devices. it what was just sprints refusal to allow it on their network.
     
  16. Flow39 macrumors 68000

    Flow39

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Location:
    At the Apple Store
    #16
    I just replied to someone about this not too long ago. The T-Mobile version is unlocked and capable of being used on CDMA and GSM networks AS LONG AS YOU BUY IT DIRECTLY FROM APPLE AT FULL PRICE.
     
  17. julia Siik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    #17
     
  18. julia Siik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    #18
    And yet, today, August 29, 2015, i walked into a Verizon store in Norfolk, VA, where I was told that because I had purchased my iPhone6 originally from Tmobile, I would have to purchase a new device from Verizon in order to switch back to Verizon. Are you saying that this salesperson does not know what she is talking about? When I walked next door to the AT&T store, they said yes you can swithc & use the same phone, no problem.
     
  19. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #19
    They half know what they're talking about. While you can't walk in and request a new line for that particular phone, you can insert an activated verizon sim into the TMobile iPhone and it will work perfectly. The reason is because Verizon whitelists devices, but the iPhone has the necessary technology. AT&T however doesn't whitelist and will happily take your money.
     
  20. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #20
    Unfortunately plenty of times they in fact don't know what they are talking about. Fairly sad, but not unusual at all (which makes it even more sad).
     
  21. ET iPhone Home macrumors 68040

    ET iPhone Home

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Orange County, California USA
    #21
    I forgot to mention. Both the T-Mobile Contract-Free and the Factory Unlocked (FU-released Jan. 2015) are both unlocked and work with both CDMA/GSM networks. The only difference is that the Factory Unlocked had more bands which benefited Japan and/or certain Asia Countries. I made the exchange because I was within the return window and why not get more for your buck.
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Yes.
    Are you really surprised that the salesperson doesn't know what they're talking about and want you to purchase a new phone from them?
     
  23. duaneu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #23
    It's not that they CAN'T activate a T-Mobile phone, it's their policy that they WON'T activate it. Hardware wise, it's the same phone.
     

Share This Page