Buying at AT&T store - family plan question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wahoo10, Jun 12, 2009.

1. wahoo10 macrumors 6502

I'm on a family plan with my mom "owning" the plan. I'm planning to buy a 3GS to upgrade but remain on the family plan/same #. What info do I need at the store? Will she need to come? I'm a college student, so I'm paying for it entirely with my own money, but I'm wondering if she'll need to be there since it's her plan.

2. KauaiBruce macrumors 6502a

KauaiBruce

She either must be with you or add you to the account as someone totally authorized to make changes.

3. wahoo10 thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks. Looks like we'll be having a date tonight :D rest of the family won't be around anyways, tonight could be a great dinner, great wine, and purchasing of the 3GS...what a night :p And, best of all, I'm not a whiner of how expensive the 32 giger is

4. xanadeath macrumors 6502

xanadeath

You said it all

5. AiralynRose macrumors 6502a

I assume you mean pre-ordering.

6. PNutts macrumors 601

PNutts

This is the most disturbing thing I've read today. :D

7. wahoo10 thread starter macrumors 6502

Yup. I figure since I'm slapping down a credit card and have no intentions of "undo-ing", it's a purchase, just won't see the phone for a week

P-NUTTS: hey, it's my mom, we have great girls' night outs, and both parents have taught me to appreciate good food/wine. And I'm finally legal :cool:

8. dave006 Contributor

dave006

Not to break up your girls' night out but as indicated earlier in the thread, you mom can just add you an an authorized retail user online in about 2 minutes and then you can drop by the retail store to order anytime you are ready.

How can I add a retail authorized user to my account?

http://www.wireless.att.com/answer-...yncharset=UTF-8&solutionId=KB90110&isSrch=Yes

Dave

9. KauaiBruce macrumors 6502a

KauaiBruce