Buying cheap electronics in Europe

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by windels, Nov 8, 2010.

1. windels, Nov 8, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2010

windels macrumors regular

windels

Hi!

As many here, i'm a student. I need a budget-friendly monochrome laserjet as my inkjet is costing me too much.

I already found something very interesting: the Brother HL-2270DW

Features:
    Duplexing (=printing both sides) I ALWAYS print both sides, so this would be a real time saver for me.
    Black & white
    and as an added bonus it is able to connect through WIFI so I would be able to put it wherever I wanted to.

Problem:
    On newegg, it costs 90$. In europe the bloody thing costs 210€ on amazon in Germany, while it's only 150$ in the U.S.. Cough..rip-off.. Cough cough

My question:
    -Does anyone know a cheap company that has these and ships to europe? Or another place where I can find these on the cheap? In case it matters, the shipping would be to Belgium or Germany.
    -Or, does anyone know another cheap monochrome laserjet at around 120€ with duplexing and wifi?

I've been searching for the last 2 days so I would be ever so grateful for any kind of help!

2. farmermac macrumors 6502a

Doubt it

My sister lives in Spain and bitches about how everything is more expensive then when she used to live over here. It's more expensive for companies to do business in Europe and your prices include vat.

3. MacUser09 macrumors regular

Now you know how we feel when we see how cheap stuff is in the US. :)

4. windels thread starter macrumors regular

windels

Yea, I know... But I mean it's MORE THAN DOUBLE the price.

5. gitarzysta macrumors newbie

I live in Poland where for example Apple stuff is even more expensive than in UK or Ireland for that matter.
    So believe me, I can understand your pain ;)

The only tip I may have is to search eBay.