Buying from the US, warranty, electrical compatibility, etc

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rrrro, Sep 26, 2008.

1. rrrro macrumors newbie

Hey all,

I want to get my hands on one of the new Macbooks in a month or so. I'll be travelling to the US in that time, and it will probably work out cheaper to buy it there, once I throw away the box and pretend it's old on my way back through customs in Dublin!

However, I have some questions about warranty and such.

Is it true that my warranty will be US-only?
    Can I purchase AppleCare in Ireland for a Macbook I bought in the US? Or, if I purchase it in the US [which will again be cheaper] will I be equally as covered as if I had bought it here in Ireland?
    And what's the story with power adaptors and suchlike? Will I need a converter/transformer or something? [My current Sony Vaio was also bought in the US, and works fine over here without any transformers.]

To complicate matters, I'm also a student. Can I get a student discount in the US?

Sorry for all the questions guys!

2. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

Jaffa Cake

The warranty is worldwide on laptops, so there's no trouble there – and you shouldn't have any trouble buying AppleCare for it in Ireland either. As for power, a standard adapter will do the trick, or if you've got a spare slide-on plug from an iPod I think that'll fit the MacBook's power brick.

Do beware though – US prices don't show Sales Tax, which varies from State to State and may well eat away a substantial chunk of the saving you think you might be making...

3. Phrasikleia macrumors 601

Phrasikleia

I don't know for certain about the warranties, so I'll let someone else help you there.

I can assure you that a MacBook will need nothing more than a prong adapter to function in Europe.