buying Imac 27" in japan

Discussion in 'iMac' started by blitz259, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. blitz259 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #1
    Has anyone bought 1 yet in japan? wana know whats the power supply rating (i.e. 110v, 220v,) etc coz it comes with a 2 pin plug with an attached earth wire?
     
  2. Katyusha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
  3. guzmansg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #3
    Are you stationed there? I believe the only hardware difference in the Japanese and US version would be the keyboard. It might come installed with the Japanese language on the OS but it should still be the same as far as the power requirements go.
     
  4. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #4
    Apple uses universal power supplies in their products. So all Macs will work with 100 to 240 Volts and from 50 to 60 Hz.

    Power is not an issue. You can purchase a Mac and use it anywhere in the world. All you need is the appropriate plug for the country that you are located in.
     
  5. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #5
    I am in Japan as well and decided due to current yen rate, and still having to wait to get the quad 27' that i was just going to order it.

    to answer your question though, you CAN buy one here with NO problems as all. The plugs are the same, the power is universal, and the english language is programmed in you just have to change it in preferences.

    Hope that helped. IMO you should just order one. If you are military, check out a company called "APO Box" not only do they deliver to us out here, but you also get a apple discount through them (google apo box apple store).

    anyways hope that all helps ya!
     
  6. blitz259 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #6
    Thanks guys..called apple care in japan earlier this morning and confirmed...works on auto-switching 100-240v..but dont know y they supply a two pin with an earth cable attached, better juz to put a 3 pin..juz my two cents...
    Down to softmap's mac collection in akihabara later to get my imac:)
     
  7. Katyusha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #7
    OH...I am going to buy the 27 inch iMac at Yodobashi Kamera Akiba later.

    But the staff there told me that the iMac is too heavy to be taken home by myself, so I must apply a delivery service
     
  8. ob81 macrumors 65816

    ob81

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #8
    It is 2 pin with the cable. I haven't had any issues with it though. Got my 24" from there, and I use it in the states now.
     
  9. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #9
    that don't have the i7 27' do they? also "to heavy"? they are shipping them, so how can they be to heavy to take home yourself?
     
  10. Katyusha macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #10
    No they don't.

    I said to the staff there that I want to take the new iMac home by train.

    They replied "No, that's impossible! You don't know how heavy it is!"
     
  11. oftheheavens macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    cherry point
    #11
    it is only like 30lbs
     

Share This Page