Buying in Japan, which one is best plese?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by karolina_lina, Apr 22, 2017.

1. karolina_lina macrumors newbie

Hi all, I'm in Japan and want to buy a new Macbook - it is generally cheaper than in UK and you can save another 8% by buying tax free.

The tax can only be deducted for products bought at the store - so no upgrades available... I'm just wondering what option to go for.

I am a graphic designer, don't work with too heavy files but would like my laptop to be more futureproof and last for a little while... My main concern is RAM - currently use 8gb and it is ok.

Price-wise I have those two options:

Touch Bar and Touch ID
    2.9GHz Processor
    256GB Storage

• 2.9GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 processor
    • Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz
    • 8GB 2133MHz memory
    • 256GB PCIe-based SSD1
    • Intel Iris Graphics 550
    • Four Thunderbolt 3 ports
    • Touch Bar and Touch ID
    Which works out to be a sweet deal when you buy in store (with international keyboard) for roughly £1280

Or losing the tax free shopping and upgrading the RAM (shoud I pgrade the processor too then?)

2.0GHz Processor
    256GB Storage

• 2.0GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 processor
    • Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz
    • 16GB 1,866MHz
    • 256GB PCIe-based SSD1
    • Intel Iris Graphics 540
    • Two Thunderbolt 3 ports

This works out to be roughly £1305 unless I upgrade the processor too(£1500)

Please let me know your thoughts - I'm quite tempted to save money but would like to make sre I dont regret it in the longer run...

MANY THANKS!

Karolina

2. loby macrumors 6502a

loby