Buying iPad to read and annotate PDF notes?

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by docgerrard, Mar 15, 2012.

1. docgerrard macrumors 6502

I'm a medical student and all of our notes are posted online in PDF format.

I really liked the idea of having the notes and being able to annotate them and have seamless syncing of the notes between my iPhone (on the go) and macbook air.

I just learned that just to annotate PDFs, I would need other apps and that iBooks or preview or whatever Apple puts on there originally does not support annotations.

I wouldn't mind downloading other apps, but then I realized certain apps handle the using of a stylus in different ways and that this also affects everything.

Are there any good options out there, by big reputable third party programs? I hear evernote is great but this doesn't support pdf annotations either, right?

2. MortalDays macrumors regular

My thread should tell you which app is best for PDF w/ Notetaking (LINK BELOW). I am in the same situation. (Look at the poll to see which is best).

LINK: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1340151

3. LostLogik macrumors 6502a

If its existing PDFs you want to annotate then I recommend PDF Expert. I've been using it at Uni for a Post Grad course I'm on and it's been invaluable. As well as freehand, it allows typing and highlighting in variety of colours. More importantly, it allows bi-directionally syncing of folders with DropBox.

For simple note taking on a new PDF, then I've used Noteshelf although am now switching to Remarks, also by Readdle, as a recent update has added DropBox access. But there are a load to choose from, as the thread above will show.

4. jojoba macrumors 68000

I use iAnnotate and PDF Expert for all my academic reading/annotation. Both are very good apps IMO.

5. Dar-soft macrumors member

Dar-soft