Buying Leopard for PPC

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by thomasp, Oct 15, 2007.

  1. thomasp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    When Leopard hits the shelves, for those of us still using the "ancient" technology that is the PowerPC processor ;) will we be able to pick up any box with "Mac OS X Leopard" written on it, or will we have to specifically look for the PowerPC version and make sure not to buy the Intel version?

    In other words, are Apple bundling the PPC and Intel versions together in one box, or selling them in separate boxes requiring shoppers to think before buying and make sure they're buying the correct one.


    Thanks! :)
     
  2. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
  3. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    it should all be on one disc, shouldn't be two different versions.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Think both versions will come on one disk i.e. Universal
     
  5. thomasp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Excellent :D

    Just have to keep my eyes peeled for Leopard Home Basic, Leopard Home Standard, leopard Business, Leopard Extreme, Leopard Ultimate, Leopard Home basic upgrade, etc, etc, etc...... ;)

    Aren't all those versions retailing at the same price? :p
     
  6. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #6
    Ub

    The Leopard Install Disk will be Universal Binary. So it won't matter whether you use a PPC machine - like me - or a newer Intel one.
     
  7. penter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #7
    LOL :D

    I dont want to start a new thread, so I'll feel free to post my question here.
    Now that we know that Leopard will come in a sigle disk UB format, is it even RECOMMENDED that I install it on my ancient PPC Hardware?
    the specs are in my signature, and I'm afraid that it wont be able to handle the "goodness".
     
  8. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    Leopard requires a G4 867 Mhz and up.It won't install on your old iMac.
     
  9. penter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
  10. FJ218700 macrumors 68000

    FJ218700

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Location:
    Blue Dot, Red State
    #10
    it might install via FW from a supported Mac
     
  11. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #11
    Okay, if not that computer, then how about an iBook G4 1.33 Ghz with 768MB SDRAM. Worth it to install Leopard? I'm running Panther on it now.
     
  12. ab2650 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    #12
    Minimum G4 867Mhz, so a G4 1.33Ghz (1333 Mhz) will work.
    However, I find Tiger is almost unbearable on my G4 iMac... I say leave it at Panther, or buy yourself a clearance copy of Tiger when Leopard hits the shelves.
     
  13. penter macrumors 6502a

    penter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #13

    What's do you mean by "via FW"?
    Whats FW?
     
  14. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #14
    FW=firewire. But you really don't want to install Leopard on that computer with just a 40GB HD and 256MB of memory. It will crawl.
     
  15. mrkramer macrumors 603

    mrkramer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #15
    I'm planning on installing it on a powerbook of the same specs, I think it should be fine.
     
  16. thomasp thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Really? I've managed to get Tiger working pretty well on a 500MHz G3 iBook with only 384Mb RAM. OK, you couldn't really multitask and it was only really good for internet browsing and e-mail, but still, it was working better than my G4 PowerBook at that particular time :D (to be fair, my PB was in for repair...;)). And it worked a heck of a lot better than OS9 or 10.1!
     

Share This Page