Buying Leopard With iLife 08

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ShaunC, Apr 20, 2008.

1. ShaunC macrumors member

Im fairly new to Macs and after purchasing my first macbook last month i've decided I want to upgrade from Tiger to Leopard.

First though i have one or 2 questions

Whats the difference between buying an upgrade disk (e.g. off ebay) and buying the software from the apple store?

Is there any disadvantages to buying the upgrade disk?

and is there any upgrade disks that include iLife 08 as some claim on eBay UK

cheers, ShaunC

2. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

CaptainChunk

I don't believe that there is actually an "upgrade" version of Mac OS X Leopard. It's the same distribution whether you upgrade an older version of OS X or install from scratch.

But to answer your question, the retail boxed Mac OS X discs do not include iLife. The only two ways to get iLife is with a new Mac or purchasing it separately. If an eBay seller is claiming that he's including iLife '08, it would likely be on a separate disc.

3. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

thejadedmonkey

Make sure if you buy a leopard DVD off of ebay that it's either retail or for the SAME EXACT MODEL LAPTOP you have. if it's even slightly different, it won't install.

4. HLdan macrumors 603

HLdan

The difference between buying the upgrade Leopard disc and the full retail version is the upgrade will require that you have Mac OS X pre-installed. For example since your Macbook came with Tiger you can use the upgrade disc to do a full erase of Tiger and fresh install of Leopard but Tiger has to be pre-installed.
    Here's the issue with an upgrade disc, if you do a full erase of Tiger (highly recommended) and begin to install Leopard, if you make any mistakes or errors and have to go back you will be required to re-install Tiger first then Leopard again.
    The retail version of Leopard does not require any version of OS X to be pre-installed.

5. TH-Gunner macrumors regular