Buying Mac Pro tomorrow

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by CharlieKirk, Jul 4, 2008.

  1. CharlieKirk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #1
    OK. Finally saved up. Buying it tomorrow. Any tips etc?
     
  2. David G. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    Alaska
  3. Malfoy macrumors 6502a

    Malfoy

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #3
    1. You don't have any pics, so this is the wrong forum. :)
    2. Buy the best one you can afford, better to have too much power than not enough.
    3. buy it with default amount of ram and buy all your ram elsewhere. Most of us love apple and will pay their premium for about everything BUT ram which borderlines on almost criminal.
     
  4. CharlieKirk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #4
    Oops, meant ot be in buying advise, i was trying to find the thread again.. sorry. ;(.

    Yes I'm buying the standard config and ordering three 38**s and 16GB ram and 2 raptors and 1t hds.

    oh and an acd 30" and x4 samsung 22"
     
  5. Malfoy macrumors 6502a

    Malfoy

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    #5
    very nice. sounds like you're going to have a good time :)
     
  6. Eric. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #6
    What on earth do you need all of that for?!
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7

    Woah, hang on! You can't do that. There isn't enough power. The logic board can't handle the draw of three 3800s.


    Don't buy the RAM from Apple. Don't get the hard drives from Apple.
     
  8. Dustman macrumors 65816

    Dustman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #8
    And don't buy the display from Apple. Other companies, such as Dell have better, newer technology for a lot cheaper. The Cinema Displays are very good quality, but if you seek out a monitor elsewhere in the same price range, you can get a lot more.
     
  9. CharlieKirk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #9
    Ooh... can I power it with x3 stock ati?

    I know about the ram, but I'm getting one apple monitor for color as im doing some graphic work. the rest will be cheapo samsungs.
     

Share This Page