Buying Macbook Air 11", question on financing

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Sangdushi, Sep 9, 2011.

1. Sangdushi macrumors regular

would you advice against financing? how many have done it?

I'm a broke college student and I can't deal with windows anymore. just too much headache to deal with. I have an iPad 2 which I got as a gift that I plan to sell and also a bit more cash. Can I just pay $700~ now and pay the other $400 next month and get charged 0 interest?

I know the terms and condition say it's zero interest for the first 6-12 months depending on the purchase amount and
    If balances are not paid in full by the end of the applicable period, or if a late payment is made, interest will be charged from the purchase date at a 22.99% variable APR. See Terms and Conditions for details.

but I want to make sure I'm not missing anything because I know how these companies like to work subtly telling you some information in the fine print you wouldn't have ever noticed only to get screwed in the end.

I want to get in on the student deal before Sept. 20.

btw the total for my purchase would be $1024 for the base 11"

2. TheRealDamager macrumors 65816

I've been in your same shoes, and I'd advise just waiting to buy next month when you have all the cash. You won't have to fill out all the loan nonsense, and you won't potentially fall into the trap of owing a bunch of interest.

If you do go the financing route, and you make sure you pay it off very quickly like you said, you should be fine.

3. Sangdushi thread starter macrumors regular

I know what you mean. I want that $100 gift card though lol

4. KPOM macrumors G5

As a result of financial reform it's a lot more difficult for those under 21 to get credit (generally you need a cosigner now). Plus, as you mention, the card companies are quick to charge retroactive interest at a high rate if you don't repay the loan in its entirety at the end of the deferral period.