Buying my first Mac?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lKeithStone, Jul 10, 2013.

1. lKeithStone macrumors member

I've been looking at buying a Mac for the last couple weeks and have been going back and forth on what I should get. :confused:

I've been really drawn towards the new Macbook Air's with the recent processor/graphic updates. My only problem is they don't have the retina screen option. I'm also worried they might not have enough power for whatever I decide using it for in the future.

I'm a Web Developer/Graphic Designer - I will be using the Adobe Creative Suite and possibly parallels, along with other basic surfing.

With my work discount I can get a 13" Macbook Air for $1,456.00, with this setup:
    1.7GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.3GHz
    8GB 1600MHz LPDDR3 SDRAM
    256GB Flash Storage
    HD 5000

Or should I go with a refurbished 2012 model for $1600 with these specs:
    Originally released June 2012
    15.4-inch Retina display
    2.3GHz Quad-core Intel i7
    8GB of 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
    256GB Flash Storage
    720p FaceTime HD Camera
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with 1GB of GDDR5 memory

I know the new Macbook Pro's are supposed to be coming out this fall and I'm thinking about waiting, but the max I'm willing to spend is $1600 - so I'm not sure what I will be able to get into for that price range.

What would you do in my situation?

Thanks!

2. TechZeke macrumors 68020

TechZeke

This is easy, it just depends on what you want.

Air:
    Battery Life
    Newer Tech
    Mobility

Retina:
    Power
    Retina display

What is more important to you? Done.

3. lKeithStone thread starter macrumors member

Well that is easy to answer, all of it is important.

I guess maybe I should have asked -

What would give me the most bang for my buck while also providing me enough power to do Web Dev/Graphic work?

Is there a major difference when working with graphics between the retina and non-retina?