Buying My First MBP vs. iMac vs. Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Young Doc 90, May 10, 2012.

1. Young Doc 90 macrumors newbie

Hello,

I am interested in buying either a 13'' Macbook Pro, a Mac Mini, or a 21/27 inch iMac.
    As of now, I will be waiting hopefully for new refreshes of each, and my target for purchase will be First week of July.

About me:
    I am a medical student, and mainly will be using the mac to view movies and shows, along with many documents, lecture videos and PDFs.
    I am also financially open to buying either product.
    I currently am not in range of an Apple store, nor do I have the time to make a run to the closest one to get more information as to which product is best for me.

I will be spending the next several months AT HOME where I can study for my boards exam, so portability is not a big issue with me (iMac at home is perfect).

Also like I previously mentioned, this will be my first Apple product aside from an iTouch.

At this point, i am 90% sure I will purchase an iMac as it fits my needs and
    1) it is a powerhouse
    2) I can upgrade the RAM to 8gbs with ease.

Just some questions, although they may have been discussed several times. Please bare with me:

1) Magic Trackpad vs. Magic Mouse? What is ideal for me, pros and cons to each.
    2) I will be looking to buy a new external HDD. Any recommendations? Time Capsule?!
    3) Size. 21 inches vs 27 inches. It will be placed on my study desk. are 27'' iMacs generally too big for simple study desks?
    4) Applecare. Is it worth the buck? Generally, I feel Apple products have amazing lifetime from what I hear.
    5) Any shortcuts to cut costs? (ex. upgrading RAM myself instead of Apple's pricey upgrades).
    6) Does upgrading the RAM void the Warranty // Applecare?
    7) HDMI capability. As of now, the iMacs do not have HDMI. What wiring can I use to project HDMI onto an iMac?