Buying New 17" MBP, need fast awnsers: Screen, Processor

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SamSchneeberger, Feb 29, 2008.

1. SamSchneeberger macrumors member

Hey Guys,

I'm new in the Mac world and I'm heading out to the closest Apple Store (1 hour away...) tomorow to buy the new MBP.

I need some questions awnsered "fast" before I head out and buy:

- I'm a pro photographer: Should I get the High res 1920 wide screen or the normal 1680, dunno if my eyes will hurt on that 1920 wide screen. Which one is better quality? (hopefully the 1680)

- Processors: I have in mind replacing it in 5 years... keeping it as long as possible. Should I get the 2.5 or 2.6 processor? I'm still a student and could always the extra cash saved, but if there really is an advantage i'll buy it. I will probably fill the MBP up pretty fast with tons of photos and games, and use CS3 and Lightroom like crazy on Windows. I'm also a gamer, and play games (simulations which can run up to 14 hours, FlightSim on Windows for example).

- I'm planning on using windows A LOT because I still have a lot of programs which I dont have the money to buy for Mac. Can I calibrate the monitor through Windows? (Might be a little stupid question, but I dont care I need awnsers now).

I would appreciate fast and well explained awnsers. I'm still new to all this Mac world.

Cheers!
    Sam

2. tip macrumors 6502

tip

I can't answer for which has the better screen, but I will say this:

- Resolution: I have an older 15" MBP and use Lightroom and Photoshop quite a bit. The 15" screen (at its resolution) is perfectly fine for me - if I needed a larger screen, I'd plug into an external monitor - that's something you might want to consider.
    ........... What resolution do you use currently? If a higher resolution is what you're comfortable with, I'd say go for it. However, you always have the option of going external.